2012 NSW Environment Awards

Nature Conservation Council’s seventh annual NSW Environment Awards

The 2012 NSW Environment Awards were presented during the Nature Conservation Council of NSW's Annual Conference at Sydney University on Saturday, 27 October. The awards are a celebration of the campaigns that have protected and enhanced the environment in NSW and recognition of the outstanding work of those who have made those campaigns happen. The 2012 awards were presented by Penny Figgis AO, director of the Australia Committee for the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and a leading member of the Australian environment movement for more than 30 years. Read more about Penny and the ACIUCN here.

The Dunphy Awardcrystal_logo.gif

For the most outstanding environmental effort by an individual. Winner: Justin Mckee. Prize: Two night luxury getaway at national award-winning eco-friendly accommodation Crystal Creek Meadows (see their special NCC offer at the end of this page).

The Rising Star Award

For the most outstanding new campaigner under the age of 30. Winner: Benjamin Hammond. Prize: Selected artwork from award-winning artist Rachel Carroll.


The Nature Conservation Council Member Group Award

For the most outstanding NCC Member Group that has demonstrated an outstanding commitment and success in the conservation of the NSW environment. Joint Winners: Lane Cove Bushland & Conservation Society and Friends Of The Koala. Prize: $1,000 worth of services from ecoDesign ecoPrintas well as 1 year's free  NCC membership.


The Allen Strom Hall of Fame

For long-standing service and commitment to the conservation movement, and for having the courage to challenge government and non-government decision-makers. Winner: John Hibberd. Prize: Framed award certificate and gift set from 3Fishand have their name inscribed on the Hall of Fame shield which remains on permanent display at the Nature Conservation Council.


The Community Climate Action Award

For the most inspiring climate action initiative by a climate-change community group. Winner: 100% Renewables. Prize:$1000 Managed Trust investment from Australian Ethical Investment.


Ziggy Megne Volunteer for the Environment Award 

Awarded in honour of the untiring contribution of Zigurds (Ziggy) Megne to someone who has championed a cause or worked untiringly behind the scenes for a better, more sustainable future. Win

ner: Terry McBride. Prize: Framed certificate of appreciation and have their name inscribed on a plaque  which remains on permanent display at the Nature Conservation Council, as well a gift from Ascella Pure Wines.


The Marie Byles Award

For the most outstanding new environmental campaign. Winner: Coal Terminal Action Group. Prize: 12 month subscription to Nation Builder website (sponsored by NCC.


Special offers from our sponsors

Crystal Creek Meadowsare offering a special getaway package if you mention the NSW Environment Awards.

Ascella Pure Winesare also offering a special discount to NCC members and supporters through their Friends of Ascella club.

Thank also to National Parks Association of NSW.

Click here to see 2011 winners and nominees.

Nominees booklet 2012.pdf430.54 KB

© 2012 Nature Conservation Council of New South Wales Australia Inc. Except where otherwise explicitly authorised, any material on this website which may be construed as electoral material or an electoral matter under any State or Commonwealth Law is authorised by Pepe Clarke, on behalf of the Nature Conservation Council of New South Wales Australia Inc.  Level 2, 5 Wilson Street, Newtown NSW 2042 Tel +61 2 9516 1488 Fax +61 2 8026 8301. Privacy

empowered by Tribe Rising